Monroe Democrats Elect New Leadership

Nick Kapoor takes the helm of the party as Patty Ulatowski steps down. Dee Dee Martin was elected as vice chair.

Nick Kapoor, 21, is ascending the ranks in town politics at a rapid pace. He was appointed to finish Michele Mount's Town Council term on March 12 and was elected chairman of the Monroe Democratic Town Committee on Tuesday night.

The party ushered in new leadership as Patty Ulatowski stepped down after four years of leading the DTC. Michele Mount also chose not to run for another term as vice chair. She was replaced by longtime Town Council member Dee Dee Martin.

"I'm confident the new leadership will continue the mission of the Town Committee and guide the group to new and exciting horizons," Ulatowski said. "It was an honor to serve and I am forever grateful for every second I sat in
the chair. I became intimately acquainted with so many wonderful folks and made cherished and lasting friendships. I'm looking forward to spending more time at home with my wonderful and very understanding husband."

Kapoor said he is extremely grateful for Ulatowski's guidance.

"For the time that I have been involved in Monroe's government and politics, I have found that Patty has truly been a leader," he said. "She has stood up for the minority voice in town with strength and courage. I hope to continue her fearless leadership in my new role."

The Democrats hold only minority representation seats on all elected boards and hold the majority on one of the appointed boards and commissions.

The new MDTC chairman said, "Board and commission seats belong to the people, not to a party. We will continue, as we have done in the past, to fill these seats with the most qualified Unaffiliated and Democratic residents of Monroe."

New MDTC Vice Chairwoman Dee Dee Martin said, "As a long serving member of
the Town Council I have not, in the past, served in an executive position on the Democratic Town Committee; capable and committed hands have guided us thus far. But tonight, given the opportunity to work alongside Nick Kapoor not only on the Council but on the Town Committee, I am excited for the challenges ahead. We have an opportunity to show the citizens of this great town that being Democrats and working hard for your community go hand-in-hand.”

Kapoor said, "I look forward to growing the party and standing up for the minority voice in town. It is the job of the minority to question the majority and keep internal checks and balances in order. It is my hope we can get more people involved, not only in the town's political parties, but in town government. I look forward to the day when the vacancy committees of both political parties have no work because there are no vacancies! I would like to thank the Monroe DTC for putting their faith in me. Along with Dee Dee Martin, the Executive Board and the rest of the DTC, we will work hard to make Monroe the best Monroe it can be right now."

Kapoor, Martin and all of the newly elected officers will have terms from 2012 - 2014.

Returning to the MDTC's Executive Board is Pat Tomchik, one of Monroe's constables, as Secretary. Jason Maur, a member of the Commission on Aging, will be the Committee's new Treasurer.

Lori Flick March 29, 2012 at 03:29 PM
Congratulations, Nick! You are going to do well, you have your heart in the job.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »